The History of the Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA)

The Collegiate Women’s Sports Awards began in 1976 as the Broderick Awards, named after Tom Broderick. Judie Holland, SWA from UCLA; Irv Grossman and Tom Broderick created the program. Subsequent to the passing of Tom Broderick the program continued to be guided by Holland & Grossman.

In 1985 when American Honda agreed to serve as sponsor, the name was changed to the Honda-Broderick Awards in transition and then became the Honda Awards.

In 2001 the name changed again to The Collegiate Women Sports Awards sponsored by Honda as Honda served as the title sponsor.

Irv Grossman passed in 2006 and under the leadership of Judie Holland, executive director, The Collegiate Women Sports Awards were organized under the California Nonprofit Corporation Law. Henceforth The Collegiate Women Sports Awards was the owner and operator of this awards program.

In 2012 Honda became a presenting sponsor and a composite logo followed. Therefore as of 2012 the awards have been known as The Collegiate Women Sports Awards (CWSA) presented by Honda.

Since their inception, the presentation has been made annually in a variety of settings including a banquet at the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Annual Convention; a banquet at the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) annual convention; a press conference on campus.

Since 2012 it has become a two-day event in L.A. in conjunction with a one-hour live television broadcast. In September of 2012, Chris Voelz became the second Executive Director to serve The CWSA.

A founding principle of the award is that it will be voted on by all NCAA member institutions through the designated Senior Woman Administrator (SWA).

Award nominations for the institutional ballot come from a combination of All-America Committees; finish at respective national championships or panels of coaching experts.

The award winner is to reflect “not only athletic achievement but also the ideals of team contribution, scholastic endeavor, school and community involvement and those personal characteristics as stated in the philosophy of the NCAA.

Today the program includes the following awards:

•   The Honda Cup (signifying the Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year)

•   12 sports awards for the best female athlete in each of the 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports

•   Division II Female Athlete of the Year

•   Division III Female Athlete of the Year

•   Honda Inspiration Award

•   Irv Grossman Award of Merit

•   Dr. Judie Holland Award